Recipes

Buzzed Cherry Bombs

I hope everyone is recovering well after the long holiday weekend! I haven’t been blogging for over a month now as we recently just moved 3 hours away from our old home and have had a lot to do revolving that. I also have taken some time to get more familiar with photography so the pictures I use on here can be of better quality for all of your viewing pleasure.

With the 4th of July, it is only natural to look up some patriotic foods on Pinterest; whether it’s a cake topped with a flag made out of fruit or a red white and blue cocktail, Pinterest has you covered.

I was interested in making a dessert with booze, but that I could also make without booze given that there would be kids around and I wanted to avoid any fights over telling them they can’t have certain sweets.

This picture looks 1.) Patriotic 2.) EASY 3.) Tasty

image

 

I’m not the biggest fan of white chocolate, but the flag look can’t be done with a dark chocolate so I put aside my dislike. You only need 4 ingredients: Maraschino Cherries, Vodka, White Chocolate and Blue Sprinkles.

I bought thee containers of Maraschino’s, this would obviously depend on how many you were looking to make. I drained the juices from two of them and replaced with a Passion Fruit Vodka and let them sit for two days, once I was ready to coat them, I drained them in a colander. (I also drained the regular Maraschino’s in a separate colander.)

I melted the white chocolate in a bowl and filled another small bowl with the blue sprinkles for immediate dipping. I had placed a toothpick in each cherry to help with dipping as mine came without stems as shown in the picture.

The cherries were very easy to dip and cover in the chocolate, the sprinkles went on right after while the chocolate was warm. I then placed them on wax paper, which took less than 3 minutes to dry/harden up.

image

I give this recipe a 8/10, they were delicious, cute, and everyone loved them. My only qualms about the recipe were that the sprinkles kind of ‘melted’ on the bottom so they weren’t the crunchy texture that they originally were. I also made them in advance and put them in the refrigerator and the colors from the sprinkles started to bleed all over the white chocolate making them look a bit messy.

Overall this was a fairly cheap endeavor and only cost around $10.00. It’s a great idea if you want to bring a little something to a 4th of July party but don’t have a lot of time or money to throw something together, also great if you have a party with kids and adults.

Until we pin again,

Olivia Koehler

Leave a Reply

