Recipes

Pasta Salad with Avocado Dressing

I can’t say I’m the biggest fan of cold pasta salads, but I have seen way too many people pin this recipe not to try it out.

I do LOVE Avocados as most people do, that plus this recipe calls for bacon, so I was sold.

image

Whenever I make a recipe, I glance over the ingredients to ensure I have everything; it isn’t until I start the recipe that I look at the quantity of some ingredients. This Recipe called for 6 TABLESPOONS of Coriander.

Now, my first thought was, at this point wouldn’t you give the measurement in cup form? And secondly, there was no way I was adding that much to my pasta, I am still convinced it was a typo as a lot of this recipe was poorly written.

This is a very easy recipe to make, and if you have the spices, it costs about $10.00 to make. (Noodles, Avocados, Lime, Tomato, Bacon, Buttermilk).

I boiled the noodles and fried up the bacon simultaneously and then added the dressing ingredients into a bowl and blended them. I had to wait for the noodles to cool before adding the sauce so I put them in the fridge to speed up the process.

I should also note I used whole wheat noodles.

Once the noodles cooled, I stirred in the Avocado Sauce and then crumbled the bacon over it. The end result? Blah.

image

 

My husband thought it was good, but I didn’t care for it.

Visually it looks nothing like the picture; the crazy amount of spices mixed with the avocados makes it a brownish green, NOT the pretty green displayed in the picture. All the spices also made this dish taste very peppery.

As anyone knows, if you leave avocado out it starts to brown. So unless you and your family can consume this dish in a sitting, it is going to get even less attractive.

If I had to summarize this dish, it was like someone tried to make Guacamole and mix it with Pasta but did a piss poor job at it. I kept saying, “This would be better with Peppers, onion and salt; so, yeah it would have been better if it was just guacamole.”

Long story short, don’t waste your time. IF you desperately want to try it, don’t prepare it for guests, make it for yourself for lunch or something so you don’t embarrass yourself.

Maybe it is just my pallet, but this is definitely not a dish to make for passing at parties if you want the majority of people to like it.

Until we pin again,

Olivia Koehler

 

Leave a Reply

