Recipes

Cinnamon Bun Pecan Pie

My husband is a HUGE fan of cinnamon rolls, and he especially likes when they have pecans on them, so when I stumbled across this recipe on Pinterest when I was pinning recipes for Fall, I knew I had to attempt it. (The recipe link is at the bottom of this post)

image

At first I thought it was one of those ‘Pinterset Fails’ waiting to happen. It was so visually pretty I just knew it must be too good to be true, but I tried it anyways…twice.

The first attempt was ok but I of course was a.) trying to rush to the end result and b.) trying to enhance the recipe.

A.) I was so excited to see if this would work so when I got to the end with the cream cheese, I put it on right after I took it out of the oven so it melted and just looked…gross.

B.) By enhancing the recipe, I mean only one thing. When I saw the dough you roll out was only covered with butter and cinnamon, I thought, “Ha, why wouldn’t there be sugar too?”…I’ll tell you why, because the sugar got melty and sticky and ruined the crust.

Long story short, take your time and don’t try to outsmart the recipe.

Attempt two went much better, like  A LOT better.

It all starts with the pie crust; I’m sure you can make your own but the recipe actually calls for ‘pie dough’ so I just bought a premade one from the store. You stretch it out on a piece of parchment paper so it doesn’t stick to your counters and you then spread the melted butter and sprinkle the cinnamon on top.

Once you’ve done this, you roll up the dough and slice it up so you have mini roll’s; you take these mini rolls and begin pressing them into your pie tin to create the crust.

My only tip here is that if the dough starts to get too soft, you put the mini rolls in the refrigerator until they get firm again as you want them to still have that circle shape when you press them into the pan. If they are too soft they get a bit distorted.

(Here is a picture of my crust)

image

Next, put your pecans in the pie crust and once you mix the remaining ingredients you’ll pour that over the pecans and bake. AFTER you’re done baking and the pie has had time to cool, you can then drizzle your cream cheese frosting over the top.

Voila!

image

This pie was a HUGE hit and I highly recommend the recipe. It’s a fun twist on the classic Pecan Pie but is great for any time of year! When I make this again, I will save some of the nicer mini rolls for the edge of the pie crust since that is the main part you see. (I started at the center of the tin with the nice ones and worked my way to the edge and only had the ‘scraps’ left.)

Until we pin again,

Olivia Koehler

http://www.ohnuts.com/blog/cinnamon-bun-pecan-pie-recipe/

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Bun Pecan Pie

  1. Unlike you, this recipe doesn’t look that appetizing to me. Personally I would rather make a really good pecan pie and not ruin the flavor with cinnamon in the crust. However, because you give this such high reviews I’ll have to try it. Have you ever tried some sort of frosting other than cream cheese frosting over the top? I think a maple or cinnamon frosting would be good on this pie. What size should the cinnamon rolls be at the bottom of the pan?

    1. The recipe is included at the bottom of the post, it will provide you with more accurate steps. If you’re not a fan of cinnamon rolls, I wouldn’t try this recipe. I like them as well as my husband which is why we tried this out. I have not tried other frosting flavors on it, but I agree a maple would be good. 😊

Leave a Reply

