DIY

DIY: Wedding Sign

It’s been almost two months since our wonderful wedding day! So it’s time to reminisce about another Pinterest project I took on to add to the décor and theme of my reception.

Our ‘theme’, if you will, was very elegant with ivory and gold colors throughout and flowers everywhere. As you’ll see from my other wedding article for DIY: Table Numbers, gold frames were used as a theme for our reception as well.

When I went to search Pinterest for ideas, I came across this picture.

image

As I’m sure many of you have found, on Pinterest there are a lot of visual ideas but no links on how they were made, just links to where you can find the original source of the picture. Like, “Wow, this salad looks amazing, but I can never make it because the link just took me to the blog about a party where it was served.”

This picture was one of those, it took me to the Photographers blog where she had shot the picture of the sign from a wedding. Luckily, this wasn’t a recipe and it looked easy enough to make on my own.

I bought my sign from Hobby Lobby, it was a chalkboard sign that I assume is meant for outside restaurants or pubs to bring in crowds with a ‘Happy Hour’ design strewn across it. It originally had a tan wood frame, so I simply taped off the chalkboard portion and spray painted the frame to match all my other gold frames.

My Mother dabbles in calligraphy so I charged her with writing out the saying on the board with a white chalk/marker pen I bought. Calligraphy we learned, is easier to write than it is to transform into large text on a sign; so after the fourth attempt, I opted to do it myself.

I first drew out my letters in a white colored pencil to ensure it looked how I wanted it to and that the words were large enough to fill the sign. I use the word ‘drew’ because I didn’t view this as writing, I looked at the picture and I drew the shapes to match the way they were on the Pinterest picture. Once completed, I traced over it with the white chalk pen which really made it ‘pop’.

Lastly, I wanted the floral vine; I bought this from Hobby Lobby as they were having a sale, so I bought two long vines and intertwined them to make them look fuller and then draped them over the sign.

image

Overall, this project cost me $45.00. I’m sure I could have found a cheaper sign, but I had my 40% off coupon which brought the sign to $28.00. The rest of the cost was the paint, the chalk pen, and the floral vines.

I do like the fact that there is a back side, so I can use that portion of the sign if I ever host a baby shower or bachelorette party etc. For now, it just sits in our basement waiting to see the light of day at our next event.

Until we pin again,

Olivia Koehler

 

Leave a Reply

