Recipes

Avocado Caprese Skillet Chicken

Who likes fresh Mozzarella?….Everyone

Who has jumped on the Avocado fan bus?… Everyone

Then it’s settled, this is a widely appealing recipe for both men and women, healthy eaters and picky eaters alike. (Maybe not for children with underdeveloped taste buds)

When I saw this recipe and picture on Pinterest, I knew it would be SO easy, and therefore I had to try it out.

image

It calls for the following ingredients:

Avocado: $1.00

Basil: $2.50

Garlic Powder: (I already had at home)

Onion Powder: (I already had at home)

Tomatoes: $1.50

Balsamic Dressing: $2.00

Italian Seasoning: (I already had at home)

Salt and Pepper: (I already had at home)

Fresh Mozzarella: $4.00

Chicken breasts: $8.00


Total Cost: $19.00

If you had to buy the additional spices, I would say to round it up to $25.00. As I mentioned, the recipe was so very simple. I blended the spices together and coated the chicken breasts, I then threw them on the pre-heated skillet which had olive oil in it and let it cook through until the middle was no longer pink.

I then sliced my tomatoes, avocado, and mozzarella and plucked my desired amount of basil leaves and stacked them all on top the chicken like an edible Jenga.

I lastly had to drizzle the balsamic dressing over it and voila, it was done!

image

As you will see, I couldn’t stand looking at an empty plate, so I took matters into my own hands and added some bread with a side of garlic aioli.

For the garlic bread, I chopped up a  French baguette and placed them on a cooking sheet, drizzled with olive oil and pepper.

The aioli is very simple, you need only about a Tablespoon of mayo, a splash of vinegar and a crushed garlic clove stirred together.

This is the most ‘restaurant’ style meal I’ve made on my own, it was SO delicious and flavorful, and although this is a skillet meal, you could totally take it to the grill. This would also be a GREAT salad if you chopped up the chicken and threw it all on some spinach!

Until we pin again,

Olivia Koehler

 

 

Leave a Reply

