Recipes

Mini Fruit Pizzas

With the weather starting to warm up, and fruit becoming more ‘in season’, I went to Pinterest looking for a lighter dessert option for a family get together I was going to.

I have always loved dessert pizzas; I mean, who doesn’t like a giant cookie covered in cream cheese-y goodness? Pinterest had a link for a new take on this dessert, making them mini, how cute! (The recipe can be found at the bottom of this entry)

I won’t lie, I cheated and bought pre made sugar cookie dough. Not only did this save me time, but it was only $3.50 for the roll and all I had to do was cut them and place on a baking sheet.

So, do it how you want, make your own, buy it pre-mixed, even switch up the flavors of the cookie! You do you!

I did follow the frosting recipe and it turned out very nicely; it was also easy to make with such few ingredients; this portion only cost me $5.00, (Cream Cheese and Butter aren’t ‘cheap’). I’d imagine you could buy those pre made Betty Crocker frostings for a few bucks less, but I didn’t want to completely stray from the recipe.

The most costly thing for this recipe, is quite obviously the fresh fruit. I went with kiwis, blueberries, strawberries, bananas and raspberries which cost about $10.00. That brings our recipe ingredients to about $17.50, this can be lowered with less fruit options and pre made frosting.

Dealing with the fruit was my least favorite part, not that it took a lot of time, it just took the longest; having to wash all the fruit and then chop it up into little pieces etc. Note: Kiwi is tricky to chop so I scooped it out with a spoon and then chopped it up.

All in all, this is very easy to put together; you bake your cookies, let them cool, spread the frosting, and stick your fruit on top, tah dah!

I made these the night before my family get together so it was a toss up on how to store them, do I refrigerate them because of the fruit and dairy filled frosting? Or do I leave them room temperature for the cookies?

My Husband settled it for me by putting them in the fridge. The next day, the cookies got ‘soggy’ from being in the cold and then going back to room temperature. So, if you make these overnight, DO NOT REGRIDGERATE!

My dog clearly approved of this recipe…

image

They all were still eaten and everyone said how delicious they were, which speaks volumes to the flavor since the cookies were very flimsy.

Next time, I would try and make these the day of the event since they weren’t time consuming and then I won’t have to worry about storing them. I also do still like the idea of the regular sized dessert pizza, so I’m not forever sold on the mini’s.

I do think they are great for a large group, or a kids party so that everyone gets a piece rather than having to slice up a big cookie while making sure everyone has a slice.

Until we pin again,

Olivia Koehler

http://www.sweetandsavorybyshinee.com/mini-fruit-pizzas/

 

Leave a Reply

