Recipes

Strawberry Margarita Jello Shots

This pinterest idea did not come with a recipe, only a picture tutorial in the link listed below.

I LOVE strawberries and I enjoy a good party too… for anyone who has ever had a jello shot and had to deal with the awkward ‘tonguing’ of the plastic cup, this is an awesome alternative because the whole thing is edible!

For those who don’t know how to make jello shots; you use 1 cup booze of choice, and 1 cup boiling water and prepare the jello flavor of your choice as the box instructs. For these, since they are ‘Margaritas’, I used tequila as my booze and strawberry as my flavor.

Now the tricky part… you first must hollow out the strawberries. I used a melon baller as the picture instructed, but not all of my strawberries were large enough to even be hallowed out. I had to be very careful when scooping the innards out because if you got too close to the rim you’d create a hole where the jello would leak out.

BUT, before you can pour the jello into your hollowed out berries, you need to think of how you will position them.

As we all know, strawberries are triangular and therefore do not stand up on there own. I had not thought this part through. Somehow the picture illustrates that the berries CAN in fact stand erect on their own… this is a lie. I propped my berries up on each other inside muffin tins (as my picture shows).

I let mine coagulate for an entire day, and they still weren’t completely solidified. I sprinkled the rims of the strawberries with sugar and chopped up little lime slices to pair with them. THEY.WERE.ADORABLE.

Image

Long story short… they are delicious and cute as can be, everyone loved them. Just be sure you think it through from start to finish, give yourself time, get big berries and have some sort of strawberry holding contraption!

Until we pin again…

Olivia Hotchkiss

Leave a Reply

