Recipes

Baked Egg in an Avocado

As someone who enjoys both avocados and breakfast foods, I thought this was well worth a try; especially considering I have very busy mornings. I followed the directions listed at the pinterest found link below, here are my findings…

The instructions say cut your avocado in half, remove the pit and you should be able to fit two eggs into the indentation. FALSE. I couldn’t even fit one standard egg into my avocado, not only that but the egg white proceeded to pour over the edge of the avocado onto the baking sheet and so on and so forth.

After the allotted time of 15 min in the oven at 425, I discovered the only part of the egg that had cooked fully was the portion that dripped onto my sheet; so I let it bake an additional 15 min until it turned white.

It looked just as pretty as most of the pins I have seen; however, looks can be deceiving. No amount of salt or pepper was going to save this concoction. I personally love the sweetness of the avocado against the savoriness of your typical egg, this method robbed it of any of its flavor.

In short, the recipe (with a generous sized avocado) does indeed work; but it lacks flavor. I personally wouldn’t waste 1/2 an avocado on this trivial pursuit.

egg

Until we pin again…

Olivia Hotchkiss

Baked Egg in Avocado

Leave a Reply

